Finding the Balance in Projects that Work

One of the biggest challenges I face as a teacher is finding a way of assessing them that works. In the last week or so, I have been working diligently on my next semester plans, honing and shaping each assignment to be more effective. At the same time, I have been trying to take a mental step back, assessing how effectively each project or assignment meets my goals.

The challenge here lies in finding a balance within a variety of assignments without overwhelming the students (or me, for that matter). Ensuring that each course objective is met reasonably, directly, and concisely, I can ensure that students actually do what we say they will, but without getting to the point where they are engaging in “busy work.” Rather, I desire meaningful assessment activities, focused on engaging students in developing abilities.

Teacher friends, help me out! Ideas for how you ensure that students meet goals in a rather subjective discipline…

Leave a Reply

