Welcome to the course!

For those of you who are just joining the class this semester, I heartily welcome you to the course! Let me mention a couple of things here that we might not get to in a face-to-face session.

First, I believe that learning, like communication, is an ongoing and dynamic process. Some days everything just “clicks,” while other days are molasses brains, slow and frustrating.

Second, I want to see every student do their absolute best. Some students and I hit it off immediately, and we can joke and smile easily while remaining productive. Other students don’t like my style of teaching or my explanations. Regardless, students who apply themselves and take the learning part seriously get more from the course than those who care about points.

One of my personal goals for this course is very simple… I don’t want you to simply be able to regurgitate something; I want you to understand it fully, to make it part of you. This class has the power to change everything about your life, from how you study and learn to how you relate to your family, friends, coworkers, bosses, and your romantic partners. But you have to WANT to learn this material.

I’ll try to post some information the next few days that will help you better plan ahead for this course.

Leave a Reply

