Textbook Reading Hacks: Using REVEL highlighting & annotation

I’ve mentioned it before, but I am absolutely thrilled by our new online textbook format option. For those of you who have not used a textbook in this way, let me give you a few tips about using the highlighting and annotation feature. Below is a screen shot of our online book with the highlight & annotation feature brought up.

Highlight-annotation

First, you have 3 color options for highlighting (pink, yellow, and green). I really recommend that you use these to mark your text for different purposes. For example, you could use these to differentiate between terms, concepts, and examples. This is a way many students might do that.

You can also highlight in one color when you read on your own before class (things you think are important). Highlight in a second color for things I cover in class, and use the third color when you read after our class discussion (i.e., review).

Another option that really excites me as I thought about the colors… Use green for things you think you understand pretty well. When you highlight it, use the text box to write your own ideas or summaries, examples, or other information that you believe is important.

Use yellow for things that you want to review a couple of times as you read again. You can make notes about how your understanding changes over time. You can also add to your knowledge by adding comments I make about the concept in class, when possible.

Finally, use pink for things you need me to explain. When you don’t get it, mark your text. Bring up that topic in class. We’ll do what we are able to do to review or make sense of it.

Also, I have my own highlight color I can share with you, a bright blue. When I think something is important or challenging, I make a note of it and try to share it with all students immediately.

The best part of using these features is that if you change your mind, all you have to do is delete the highlight! That simple!

If you have questions about how to use REVEL highlighting or annotations, please come see me. We have a computer lab right outside my office, so we can work together to help you get more familiar.

Leave a Reply

